Pilates fail

I used to really enjoy Pilates, but haven’t been for a few years due to the issues with my ankle. Recently I thought about starting up again and today I found out that my local gym (which I get a deal on through my work) has a class on Tuesdays at 6.30pm and Saturdays at 8:15am. Mum has been interested in starting a healthy activity with me and has been doing Tai Chi/Yoga for seniors once a week, so tonight I asked her if she wanted to come to Pilates with me.

“What does Pilates entail?” she asked.

So I go to YouTube and look up a beginner Pilates video… it starts with a couple of minutes breathing, “I’m already bored” she said. Then the woman lays down and brings her knees up at a 90 degree angle from the ground, “well that’s me out, I can’t do that” said Mum.

So I looked for a beginner seniors video and we started watching that. We ended up in hysterics because the lady was doing all the same sort of things with oblique crunches and what not. Mum kept putting in gold nuggets like, “she expects seniors to do this? Are there assistants there somewhere to help us up and down?”, the funniest part were her expressions each time the moves got more complicated. Then the lady started saying things like, “you are doing great!” and “nice job!” to which I said,

“What a stupid comment to make. How does she know what we are doing? We are sitting here laughing at her with cups of tea. What if someone had broken their hip doing this and needed medical help and she is sitting there saying how great they are doing?” More giggling ensued.

When it was finished Mum said she would happily come along to Pilates and be my cheer squad, but no way was she participating šŸ™‚ Imagining Mum at the side of the room with pom poms cheering and clapping every time I did a crunch had me dissolving into laughter once more. It didn’t even help that there is a Library attached to the gym hahaha.

Have you ever considered trying a new activity then found out what was involved and reconsidered your options?

About DitchTheBun

I have a new job and now work in a Public Library full time as the Reference & Information Services Librarian. It is a full on, busy role with much variety and many challenges and I love it! I have strange sometimes very outside the box ideas that I want to try at work, I just need to convince others of how awesome my ideas are. Saving the Library, one awesome plan at a time. Hmm... I need a cape - all the awesome super heroes have a cape! View all posts by DitchTheBun

20 responses to “Pilates fail

Leave a Reply

